The Society for Mathematical Biology

Annual Meeting and Conference, July 21-26, 2019


The 2019 Annual Meeting and Conference of the Society for Mathematical Biology (SMB) will be held in Montréal (Canada) from July 21-26, 2019. The conference theme is From genome to biome. The conference is organized by the Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) and will be held on the campus of the Université de Montréal.


Plenary Speakers

Helen Byrne, University of Oxford - Leah Edelstein-Keshet Prize
Caroline Colijn, Simon Fraser University

Morgan Craig, Université de Montréal  - Lee A. Segel Prize  (junior) 
Kim Cuddington, University of Waterloo 

Jinzhi Lei, Tsinghua University

Noaki Masuda, University of Bristol - Akira Okubo Prize     

Nick Monk, University of Sheffield - John Jungck Prize  

Arthur Sherman, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases ¿

                        Arthur T. Winfree Prize 

Moritz Thon, Technical University of Munich - Lee A. Segel Prize  (senior)

Lindi Wahl, Western University



Call for Contributed Papers and Posters


Participants are invited to submit Contributed Paper and Poster presentations.


Submission deadline for Contributed Papers and Posters : March 29



Call for Minisymposium Proposals


Minisymposia are a crucial component of the Conference.


We invite Minisymposium proposals with 4 or 8 speakers over one or two periods of two-hour duration (4 speakers per period, typically 25 minute talks followed by 5 minute question period). Organizers are asked to select speakers with an eye to gender and geographical balance. 

Fill out the form :  SMB2019-MinisymposiumProposal

Submission deadline for Minisymposium Proposal : February 15 -  PASSED



The Conference will be held on the campus of the Université de Montréal, around the André-Aisentadt building.



Participants are expected to make their own arrangements.


Residences are available on campus, in limited numbers.


Terrasse Royale Hotel is the only hotel close to (15 minute-walk) campus.


Other accommodation suggestions are here : all are close to public transit.




All fees are in Canadian dollars


Early registration until April 20:

Student: 350 $ CAD

SMB Member: 450 $ CAD

Non-Member: 550 $ CAD


Registration from April 21 to  July 13:

Student: 450 $ CAD

SMB Member: 550 $ CAD

Non-Member: 650 $ CAD


Only on-site registration will be accepted after July 13:

Student: 500 $ CAD

Member: 600 $ CAD

Non-Member: 700 $ CAD




On the registration form, there are several extras that can be added, some of which require additional fees.


A banquet in a uniquely Montreal venue will be held on Wednesday July 24,

at an additionnal cost of  $100 per person.


A Pre-conference Early Career workshop will be held on Sunday July 21,

at an additionnal cost of  $40 per person.


A Mentoring Program is held throughout the Conference, at no cost. Indicate on the «Additional Comments » at the bottom of the registration form if you want to participate, and specify whether it is as a Mentor or Mentee.



Payment can be made through the online registration form.



Financial Support


Some financial support is available for students, postdoctoral fellows and junior scientists. This application is separate from registration, and is  here.



The Conference will run from Sunday July 21 (Welcome Reception around Dinner time) to Friday July 26 Midday.

Scientific activities will run from Monday July 22 morning to Friday July 26 Midday.



Scientific Committee

Jane Heffernan (York University) Co-Chair
Jacques Bélair (Université de Montréal) Co-Chair
Alexander Anderson (Moffitt Cancer Center)

Julien Arino (University of Manitoba)
Daniel Coombs (University of British Columbia)
Frédéric Guichard (McGill University)
Thomas Hillen (University of Alberta)
Anmar Khadra (McGill University)
Stéphanie Portet (University of Manitoba)
Ami Radunskaya (Pomona College)

James Watmough (University of New Brunswick)
Huaiping Zhu (York University)

Local Organizing Committee
Jacques Bélair, Chair

Frédéric Guichard

Anmar Khadra

Louis Pelletier





Fields_Institute_Logo         caims-logo         Maple_2015_logo






SanofiChair       FAS-officiel